spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launch delayed
Posted: Wed, Aug 28, 2002, 7:52 AM ET (1152 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch on Flight 145 (ESA) Technical problems delayed the Ariane 5 launch of two satellites Tuesday by one day. The Ariane 5 was scheduled to launch at 6:30 pm EDT (2230 GMT), but the countdown was stopped three minutes before launch because of a glitch between the booster's onboard computers and ground systems. Engineers appeared to have resolved the problem in time to resume the launch, and the countdown was reset to the T-7 minute mark, but when the countdown started it immediately stopped again, as the launch would have occurred just outside the launch window. The launch has been rescheduled for Wednesday at 6:30 pm EDT (2230 GMT). The Ariane 5 is carrying the Atlantic Bird 1 communications satellite and the MSG 1 weather satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
OneWeb applies to FCC for bigger fleet authorisation
Telecompaper — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
NASA eyes Aug. for SpaceX ship liftoff with Japanese astronaut aboard
Kyodo International — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list