spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Columbia rolled out to launch pad
Posted: Mon, Dec 9, 2002, 8:02 PM ET (0102 GMT)
STS-107: rollout to pad 39A (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Columbia was rolled out to the launch pad Monday in preparation for launch next month. Columbia was moved out of the Vehicle Assembly Building at 7:30 am EST (1230 GMT), arriving at launch pad 39A six hours and 20 minutes later. Columbia is scheduled to lift off January 16 on mission STS-107, a 16-day non-ISS science mission. The mission, also known as FREESTAR (Fast Reaction Experiments Enabling ScienceTechnology Applications and Research), will fly more than 80 experiments ranging from earth and space sciences to health and advanced technology. The mission's seven-person crew includes Ilan Ramon, the first Israeli astronaut.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list