spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan 2 launches Coriolis spacecraft
Posted: Mon, Jan 6, 2003, 1:51 PM ET (1851 GMT)
Coriolis spacecraft illustration (Spectrum Astro) A US Air Force Titan 2 successfully launched a military research satellite early Monday after five previous launch attempts were scrubbed. The Titan 2 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California at 9:19 am EST (1419 GMT); its payload, the Coriolis spacecraft, separated from the booster's upper stage 59 minutes later after entering a Sun-synchronous orbit. Coriolis is a military research spacecraft that carries a Navy instrument for measuring ocean surface wind conditions and an Air Force imager that would provide advance notice of geomagnetic storms caused by solar activity. A launch attempt on Sunday was scrubbed because of gusty upper-level winds, while four launch attempts in mid-December were postponed because of inclement weather and technical glitches. The launch is the first orbital launch worldwide in 2003.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink and BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 5 11:50 AM ET (1650 GMT)

ISS spacewalkers replace faulty antenna
Posted: Sun, Dec 5 11:44 AM ET (1644 GMT)

Rocket Lab discloses details of Neutron rocket
Posted: Sun, Dec 5 11:29 AM ET (1629 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 7


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list