spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Delta 4 launch
Posted: Sun, Mar 9, 2003, 5:15 PM ET (2215 GMT)
Delta 4 first launch vehicle (Boeing) The launch of a military communications satellite on a Delta 4 booster was delayed for the second straight day Sunday, this time because of weather. Boeing launch controllers decided late Sunday morning to delay the launch of the Delta 4 Medium scheduled for Sunday evening from Cape Canaveral, Florida, because forecasts called for a 70-percent chance of high winds of up to 80 kmph. The mobile service tower will remain in place around the rocket Sunday to protect it from high winds and also allow workers to make some minor insulation repairs on the booster. The launch has been rescheduled for Monday at 6:42 pm EST (2342 GMT). the Delta 4 is carrying the DCSC 3-A3 military communications satellite on the first military mission for the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) program, which includes the Delta 4 and Atlas 5. The launch will be the second overall for the Delta 4.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches 50th Electron
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches Astra 1P
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Isar Aerospace raises $70 million
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list