spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Progress spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Thu, Jan 29, 2004, 1:17 PM ET (1817 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz booster launched a Progress cargo spacecraft Thursday on a mission to the International Space Station. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur at 6:58 am EST (1158 GMT), placing the Progress-M1 11 spacecraft into low Earth orbit nine minutes later. The spacecraft, carrying approximately two and a half tons of supplies, is scheduled to dock with the aft port of the Zvezda module of the ISS at 8:15 am EST (1315 GMT) Saturday. That port has been occupied by the Progress-M 48 spacecraft, which undocked from the station early Wednesday and burned up in the atmosphere several hours later. The Progress is carrying food, water, propellant, and other supplies, such as spare parts for some station components. Those parts include a flex hose for the window in the Destiny module to replace one that was the source of a minor air leak on the station earlier this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 22
Space Force Launches New Operations Branch
Air Force Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Space Force welcomes new command in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Gazette — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Rocket Lab stands down Canon launch
New Zealand Herald — 6:09 am ET (1009 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list