spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS spacewalk a success
Posted: Thu, Jul 1, 2004, 10:47 AM ET (1447 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) The two crewmembers on the International Space Station successfully completed a spacewalk outside the station Wednesday evening, repairing a faulty gyro. Gennady Padalka and Michael Fincke spend five hours and 40 minutes outside the ISS on an EVA that started at 5:19 pm EDT (2119 GMT). The main purpose of the EVA was to repair a gyroscope on the American segment of the station that failed earlier this year; the two were able to replace a circuit breaker on the gyro, restoring power to it. Despite having to stage the EVA from the Russian Pirs airlock on the other side of the station from the gyros' location, the spacewalkers encountered little difficulty making their way across the station, and were able to remain in constant contact with ground controllers throughout the EVA. The two finished their work ahead of schedule and had time to perform some "get-ahead" tasks around the Pirs airlock, setting up handrails that will be used for future spacewalks. The EVA had been scheduled for last Thursday, but was scrubbed just minutes after it started because of a sharp decline in oxygen pressure in Fincke's spacesuit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 21
EU signs contracts for 12 new satellites
Brussels Times — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)
Space Force Receives Fifth SBIRS Satellite
National Defense Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list