spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket problem delays Aura launch
Posted: Wed, Jul 14, 2004, 10:51 AM ET (1451 GMT)
Aura spacecraft illustration (NASA) For the second consecutive day, the launch of NASA's Aura earth sciences satellite was scrubbed shortly before the scheduled liftoff time, this time because of a glitch with the rocket. The countdown was stopped about three minutes before its scheduled 6:02 am EDT (1002 GMT) launch when controllers noticed low power levels from a battery on the booster’s second stage. The cause for the power drop was not immediately identified, but launch officials are hopeful that the problem can be resolved in time to permit another launch attempt at the same time Thursday. Tropical weather in the Pacific, though, may prevent NASA from deploying an aircraft used to monitor the flight of the vehicle's second stage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list