spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launch delayed fourth time
Posted: Tue, Aug 31, 2004, 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)
Atlas 2AS launches NRO spacecraft For the fourth consecutive day, the launch of a classified satellite on the final Atlas 2 booster was delayed, again because of weather conditions. The launch, scheduled for just before 7 pm EDT (2300 GMT) Monday from Cape Canaveral, was scrubbed because of the presence of thunderstorms in the vicinity of the launch pad. The launch has been rescheduled for Tuesday at 6:49 pm EDT (2249 GMT). The launch has been scrubbed four times now, twice because of technical problems and twice because of weather. The rocket is carrying a satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office only known as NROL-1; no other information about the spacecraft has been released. The launch will be the final mission for the Atlas 2 family of boosters, which is being retired to make way for the more powerful Atlas 5.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list