spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches EDUSAT
Posted: Mon, Sep 20, 2004, 2:08 PM ET (1808 GMT)
GSLV launch of EDUSAT (ISRO) An Indian GSLV rocket successfully launched Monday a communications satellite devoted to educational purposes. The Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle GSLV-F01 lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Center SHAR in Sriharikota at 6:31 am EDT (1031 GMT, 4:01 pm local time) Monday. The payload, the EDUSAT communications satellite, separated from the GSLV's upper stage nearly 17 minutes later after entering a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The satellite, built by ISRO, weighs 1,950 kg and carries 6 Ku-band and 6 C-band transponders. The satellite will be positioned at 74 degrees east longitude and will be dedicated to providing distance learning and other educational applications. The launch was the third for the GSLV and the first operational flight, after a pair of test flights carrying experimental satellites in 2001 and 2003.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list