spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches communication satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 16, 2001, 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Russian Proton booster successfully launched a European communications satellite late Friday night. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 9:49 pm EDT Friday (0149 GMT Saturday) and placed into orbit the Astra 2C spacecraft. Astra 2C, a Boeing 601 spacecraft, will be used by Luxembourg-based Societe Europeenne des Satellites (SES) to provide a variety of communications services from either 19.2 or 282. degrees East longitude. The launch was the second commercial Proton launch of the year, after the May launch of PAS-10, and the third Proton launch overall of 2001.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list