spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Thu, Dec 23, 2004, 11:59 PM ET (0459 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Russian Progress cargo spacecraft carrying critical supplies for the International Space Station lifted off early Friday. A Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:19 pm EST Thursday (2219 GMT Thursday, 1:19 am Moscow time Friday) and placed the Progress M-51 spacecraft (mission ISS 16P in NASA terminology) into low Earth orbit. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 6:31 pm EST (2331 GMT) Saturday. The Progress is carrying food, water, and other supplies for the station and its two-man crew. Food supplies on the ISS have dropped to extremely low levels, and if the Progress for some reason fails to arrive at and properly dock with the station, the crew would have to evacuate the station as early as December 30. An older Progress spacecraft, Progress M-50, undocked from the station early Thursday and burned up in the atmosphere over the South Pacific.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list