spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches successfully
Posted: Sat, Feb 26, 2005, 9:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
H-2A launch on flight 4 (NASDA) Japan's H-2A booster successfully returned to flight Saturday, over a year after its last launch ended in failure. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center in Japan at 4:25 am EST (0925 GMT, 6:25 pm local time), carrying the MTSAT-1R satellite. The launch was delayed by more than an hour because of a glitch with the rocket's data transmission system. The satellite separated from the booster's upper stage about 40 minutes after liftoff, having been placed into a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The launch was the first for the H-2A since a November 2003 launch of two spysats; that launch failed when one of the rocket's solid-fuel strap-on boosters failed to separate. MTSAT-1R will be used to replace an aging Japanese weather satellite as well as support Japanese air traffic controllers.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list