spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches successfully
Posted: Sat, Feb 26, 2005, 9:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
H-2A launch on flight 4 (NASDA) Japan's H-2A booster successfully returned to flight Saturday, over a year after its last launch ended in failure. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center in Japan at 4:25 am EST (0925 GMT, 6:25 pm local time), carrying the MTSAT-1R satellite. The launch was delayed by more than an hour because of a glitch with the rocket's data transmission system. The satellite separated from the booster's upper stage about 40 minutes after liftoff, having been placed into a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The launch was the first for the H-2A since a November 2003 launch of two spysats; that launch failed when one of the rocket's solid-fuel strap-on boosters failed to separate. MTSAT-1R will be used to replace an aging Japanese weather satellite as well as support Japanese air traffic controllers.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list