spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rosetta flies past Earth
Posted: Sun, Mar 6, 2005, 10:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
Rosetta spacecraft illustration (ESA) ESA's Rosetta spacecraft flew past Earth late Friday in the first of a series of flybys en route to a comet. Rosetta, launched a year ago, flew past the Earth, coming within 1,955 km of the surface over the Pacific Ocean west of Mexico at 5:09 pm EST (2209 GMT) Friday. Scientists used the flyby to test a number of instruments on the spacecraft, including taking images of the Earth and Moon. Engineers also tested an automated "asteroid fly-by mode" as the spacecraft sped past the Moon. The flyby put the spacecraft on course for a February 2007 flyby of Mars. After that Rosetta will perform four more planetary flybys, three of Earth and one of Mars, using the gravity assists provided by each flyby to swing the spacecraft towards its final destination, comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Rosetta is scheduled to rendezvous with the comet in 2014.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list