spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress spacecraft reenters
Posted: Wed, Mar 9, 2005, 9:29 PM ET (0229 GMT)
Progress spacecraft on approach to ISS (NASA) A Progress cargo spacecraft that undocked from the International Space Station over a week ago has finally reentered, Russian officials said Wednesday. Progress M-51, filled with trash from the space station, performed a deorbit burn at 11:17 am EST (1617 GMT) and reentered about 45 minutes later. The spacecraft undocked from the ISS on February 27 to make room for a new Progress spacecraft. Normally undocking Progress spacecraft are deorbited within hours of undocking, but in this case the Russian space agency Roskosmos left the spacecraft in orbit to perform engineering tests in an effort to find ways to reduce microgravity conditions on the spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Friday, October 22
Editorial: NASA launches deep into space
San Antonio Express-News — 3:24 am ET (0724 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list