spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches Air Force satellite
Posted: Mon, Apr 11, 2005, 9:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
Minotaur launch (OSC) A Minotaur launch vehicle, in its first flight in nearly five years, placed an experimental Air Force satellite into orbit Monday morning. The Minotaur lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 9:35 am EDT (1335 GMT), carrying the XSS-11 experimental satellite. Air Force officials reported that the satellite had been successfully placed into the desired orbit. The satellite will be used by the Air Force Research Lab to test autonomous navigation and rendezvous technologies. During the spacecraft's mission, slated to last 12 to 18 months, XSS-11 will rendezvous with up to seven spent rocket stages or dead spacecraft. The launch is the first for the Minotaur, a vehicle comprised of former Minuteman ICBM and Pegasus stages, since the vehicle's first two flights in early and mid 2000. Two more Minotaur launches are scheduled for later this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX performs Crew Dragon in-flight abort test
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:45 PM ET (0145 GMT)

Arianespace launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:44 PM ET (0144 GMT)

Eutelsat loses more than half of capacity on new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20 8:42 PM ET (0142 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, January 21


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list