spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Thu, May 5, 2005, 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
PSLV launch of CARTOSAT-1 (ISRO) An Indian rocket successfully launched a domestic remote sensing satellite Thursday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from a new pad at the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota, India at 12:44 am EST (0444 GMT, 10:14 am local time) and placed the Cartosat-1 satellite into orbit 18 minutes later. The 1.5-ton spacecraft, built by the Indian space agency ISRO, is designed to produce stereo imagery of the Earth with resolutions of 2.5 meters per pixel for use in cartography. The PSLV also carried a small secondary payload, Hamsat; the 42.5-kg satellite will serve as an amateur radio relay. The launch was the first this year for India.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 25


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list