spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches several satellites
Posted: Thu, Oct 27, 2005, 8:33 AM ET (1233 GMT)
Kosmos 3M launch (ESA) A Kosmos rocket successfully launched several small satellites Thursday, including a European student-built spacecraft and Iran's first satellite. The Kosmos 3M lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 2:52 am EDT (0652 GMT) Thursday, placing its payload of eight satellites into orbit. On board the Kosmos was Iran's first satellite, Sinah-1, a 170-kilogram spacecraft variously as a remote sensing or reconnaissance satellite. The Kosmos also launched SSETI Express, a satellite built by 200 students from around Europe; it, in turn, is carrying three student-built picosatellites that will be deployed after launch. The Kosmos also carried Mozhayets-5, a satellite built by a Russian military academy, and two remote sensing satellites built by Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd., TopSat and Beijing-1 (formerly China DMC+4). A second Iranian satellite, Mesbah, was reportedly supposed to be launched with the other satellites, but was not listed with the others in most media reports.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list