spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX delays Falcon 1 launch a day
Posted: Wed, Feb 8, 2006, 8:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)
Falcon 1 on pad at Omelek Island (SpaceX) SpaceX has pushed back this week's inaugural launch of its Falcon 1 rocket a day in order to conduct a countdown test. The launch is now scheduled for 4 pm EST (2100 GMT) Friday — Saturday morning at the launch site in Kwajalein — so that SpaceX can conduct a countdown test and brief test-firing of the rocket's main engine on Thursday. If no problems take place during the test, SpaceX plans to proceed with the Friday launch. Two launch attempts in November and December were scrubbed because of technical problems; the second attempt ended up damaging the first stage, forcing the company to ship out a replacement.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 22
Rocket Lab to launch ‘sustainable space’ demonstration satellite
Long Beach (CA) Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)
Second pad work resumes, space junk clean up announced
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list