spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sensor glitch delays CloudSat/CALIPSO launch
Posted: Thu, Apr 27, 2006, 1:08 PM ET (1708 GMT)
CloudSat and CALIPSO illustration (NASA) The launch of two Earth-observing satellites was called off once again Thursday, this time because of a problem with a sensor on the Delta 2 launch vehicle. The launch, which had been scheduled for Thursday morning at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California, was postponed Wednesday night after engineers found a problem with a nitrogen temperature sensor on the vehicle's second stage. The launch has been tentatively rescheduled for Friday at 6:02 am EDT (1002 GMT). Launch attempts since last Friday have been scrubbed for a variety of reasons, including communications problems, lack of available tracking planes to monitor the launch, and poor weather. The two spacecraft are designed to study the role of clouds in shaping the planet's climate. CALIPSO, a joint project of NASA and the French space agency CNES, carries a lidar and camera to study clouds and aerosols in the atmosphere; CloudSat has a radar designed to provide a three-dimensional map of cloud cover.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 22
Space Force Launches New Operations Branch
Air Force Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Space Force welcomes new command in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Gazette — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Rocket Lab stands down Canon launch
New Zealand Herald — 6:09 am ET (1009 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list