spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle launch delayed a day
Posted: Sat, Aug 26, 2006, 6:25 PM ET (2225 GMT)
STS-115: logo NASA announced Saturday afternoon that it was delaying the launch of the shuttle Atlantis at least a day to further investigate possible damage to the launch complex after a major lightning strike there Friday. Atlantis was scheduled to lift off on mission STS-115 at 4:30 pm EDT (2030 GMT) Sunday, but the launch has been rescheduled for no sooner than 4:04 pm EDT (2004 GMT) Monday, pending the results of further study to the launch site. Severe thunderstorms rolled through the area Friday afternoon, triggering at least one powerful lightning strike that hit near the shuttle. Although the shuttle itself was not damaged by lightning, technicians are checking to see if ground equipment around the launch pad was damaged. Weather conditions were also deteriorating for a Sunday launch attempt, with the latest forecast calling for only a 40 percent chance of acceptable weather Sunday. Improved weather is expected for Monday and Tuesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Prichal ISS module
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 3
Rocket Lab Unveils Neutron Launcher Design
Aviation Week — 5:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list