spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Sep 11, 2006, 1:47 PM ET (1747 GMT)
STS-115: logo The space shuttle Atlantis docked with the International Space Station early Monday as the STS-115 crew prepared to begin its station assembly tasks. Atlantis docked with the station's Destiny module at 6:48 am EDT (1048 GMT), a little less than two days after the shuttle's launch from Florida. On Sunday the STS-115 crew inspected the shuttle's exterior to look for any sign of damage from foam impacts during launch; mission managers said the shuttle appeared to be in good shape. However, according to one report a protruding gapfiller was seen on the underside of the shuttle as it performed a "flip" maneuver on approach to the station to permit the station crew to inspect the orbiter. Shortly after the docking hatches were opened between the shuttle and station, astronauts used the shuttle's and station's robotic arms to transfer a station truss segment from the shuttle's cargo bay in preparation for the first of three assembly spacewalks, scheduled for tomorrow.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 22
Space Force Launches New Operations Branch
Air Force Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Space Force welcomes new command in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Gazette — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Rocket Lab stands down Canon launch
New Zealand Herald — 6:09 am ET (1009 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list