spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches solar science satellite
Posted: Sat, Sep 23, 2006, 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
M-5 launch vehicle (JAXA) A Japanese rocket launched a science satellite Saturday carrying instruments from several countries devoted to studying the Sun. The M-5 rocket launched from the Uchinoura Space Center in southern Japan at 5:36 pm EDT Friday (2136 GMT Friday, 6:36 am Saturday local time) and placed the Solar-B satellite into a Sun-synchronous low Earth orbit. Solar-B is carrying several instruments from Japan, Europe, and the US to study the Sun and its magnetic fields. The launch is the last for the M-5, which is being retired in favor of a less expensive design based on the solid rocket boosters used by the larger H-2A rocket.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list