spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Nov 17, 2006, 8:46 PM ET (0146 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of GPS 2R-15 satellite (Boeing) A Delta 2 rocket launched a new Global Positioning System (GPS) navigation satellite after weather pushed back the launch one day. The Delta 2 lifted off from pad 17A at Cape Canaveral at 2:12 pm EST (1912 GMT), placing the GPS-2R 16 satellite into a transfer orbit 68 minutes later. The launch had been scheduled for Thursday but was postponed by inclement weather. The satellite is the third in a series of modernized GPS 2R-M satellites that feature new military and civil signals as well as enhanced encryption and anti-jamming capabilities. There are now a total of 29 GPS satellites in the existing constellation, including 12 Block 2R satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 30
SpaceX, NASA Study Raising Hubble Telescope to Higher Orbit
Bloomberg News — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list