spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian satellite suffers glitch
Posted: Wed, Jan 3, 2007, 7:28 AM ET (1228 GMT)
An Indian communications satellite went offline for a half-hour Tuesday because of a spacecraft problem linked to solar activity, the Indian space agency ISRO announced. A momentum wheel onboard the Insat 4A spacecraft shut down at around 5:30 am EST (1030 GMT, 4 pm Indian time), causing the spacecraft to lose its pointing lock on Earth, disrupting communications services provided by the satellite as a result. Proper orientation was established a half-hour later. The spacecraft, launched in late 2005, carries 24 transponders, some of which are used by an Indian direct-to-home television service.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Thursday, October 22
Space Force Launches New Operations Branch
Air Force Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Space Force welcomes new command in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Gazette — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)
Rocket Lab stands down Canon launch
New Zealand Herald — 6:09 am ET (1009 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list