spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


PSLV launches four satellites
Posted: Wed, Jan 10, 2007, 7:25 AM ET (1225 GMT)
PSLV launch of Cartosat-2 and SRE-1 (ISRO) An Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) rocket placed four satellites into orbit early Wednesday, including a new remote sensing satellite and India's first recoverable spacecraft. The PSLV lifted off from India's Satish Dhawan Space Centre spaceport at 10:53 pm EST Tuesday (0353 GMT, 9:23 am local time Wednesday) and placed is payload of four satellites into a 637-kilometer polar orbit. The largest of the four satellites on the PSLV is Cartosat-2, a 680-kilogram high-resolution remote sensing satellite. The other major payload on the PSLV was the 550-kilogram Space capsule Recovery Experiment (SRE-1), India's first spacecraft that is designed to return to Earth. SRE-1 carries two microgravity science experiments, and will return to Earth in several days, splashing down in the Bay of Bengal off the Indian coast. Also on the PSLV were two microsatellites, Indonesia's LAPAN-TUBSAT and Argentina's PEHUENSAT-1. The flight is the first orbital launch worldwide in 2007, and the first for India since the failed launch of a larger GSLV rocket in July 2006.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list