spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launch delayed
Posted: Wed, Feb 14, 2007, 9:06 AM ET (1406 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) The launch of five space science satellites on a Delta 2 has been pushed back a day when stormy weather hindered launch preparations. The Delta 2 carrying the five THEMIS satellites was scheduled to launch Thursday afternoon from Cape Canaveral, but fueling operations on Tuesday were postponed by thunderstorms in the vicinity of the launch site. The launch has been rescheduled for 6:05 pm EST (2305 GMT) Friday. The THEMIS (Time History of Events and Macroscale Interactions during Substorms) satellites will be used to study the development of large energy releases called "substorms" in the Earth's magnetosphere.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list