spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches THEMIS
Posted: Sun, Feb 18, 2007, 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of THEMIS (NASA/KSC) A Delta 2 successfully launched Saturday evening five space science satellites that will study activity in the Earth's magnetosphere. The United Launch Alliance (ULA) Delta 2 lifted off from Pad 17B at Cape Canaveral at 6:01 pm EST (2301 GMT) Saturday, and ejected the spacecraft into transfer orbits 73 minutes later. The launch had been delayed a day because of high winds. The five THEMIS (Time History of Events and Macroscale Interactions during Substorms) satellites will be used to study the development of large energy releases called "substorms" in the Earth's magnetosphere. The launch was also the first East Coast launch conducted by ULA, the Boeing-Lockheed Martin joint venture that handles Delta and Atlas launches for the US government.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 29


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list