spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Fri, May 25, 2007, 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Long March 2D launch (Xinhua) A Long March rocket launched Friday a Chinese remote sensing satellite with potential military applications. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 3:12 am EDT (0712 GMT, 3:12 pm Beijing time) and placed the Yaogan 2 satellite into orbit. The satellite wil be used for a variety of remote sensing applications, according to official Chinese media reports. Other reports identify the spacecraft as a synthetic aperture radar spacecraft, which can observe terrain both day and night and through adverse weather conditions. Also on board the launch was a one-kilogram picosatellite built by Zheijiang University to test microelectronics.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Prichal ISS module
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 3
Rocket Lab Unveils Neutron Launcher Design
Aviation Week — 5:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list