spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts perform ISS spacewalk
Posted: Thu, May 31, 2007, 8:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
ISS spacewalk on 2007 May 30 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts performed a spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Wednesday, installing shields on the exterior of an ISS module. Cosmonauts Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov spent five hours and 25 minutes outside the ISS starting at 3:05 pm EDT (1905 GMT) Wednesday. The primary purpose of the spacewalk was to begin the installation of Service Module Debris Protection panels on the exterior of the Zvezda module, providing the module with enhanced protection from micrometeorites and orbital debris impacts. Additional panels will be installed during another EVA on June 6. The two also rerouted a cable on a GPS antenna outside the station that will be used to help guide Europe's ATV cargo spacecraft to the station on its first flight late this year. The third member of the ISS crew, American astronaut Sunita Williams, remained inside the ISS during the EVA, supporting the work of the two cosmonauts.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Opinion: The future of spaceflight is female
Houston Chronicle — 8:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list