spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for June 8 launch
Posted: Fri, Jun 1, 2007, 2:03 PM ET (1803 GMT)
STS-117: May 2007 rollout (NASA/KSC) NASA shuttle managers Thursday approved plans to proceed with the launch of the shuttle Atlantis on the evening of June 8. The launch of Atlantis on mission STS-117 was set for Friday the 8th at 7:38 pm EDT (2338 GMT) after officials completed a two-day Flight Readiness Review at the Kennedy Space Center. The launch has been delayed nearly three months after the shuttle's external tank sustained hail damage while sitting on the launch pad in late February, in preparation for a mid-March launch. The damaged insulating foam on the tank was repaired, and engineers confirmed that the repaired segments would not come off during flight and strike the orbiter. The launch, the first shuttle mission in six months, will install a new segment of the station's truss. The shuttle will also carry a new ISS crew member, Clay Anderson, who will replace current ISS astronaut Sunita Williams.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list