spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays shuttle landing
Posted: Thu, Jun 21, 2007, 9:23 PM ET (0123 GMT)
STS-117: patch (NASA) Poor weather at the Kennedy Space Center forced NASA Thursday to delay the landing of the space shuttle Atlantis for 24 hours, and consider a possible landing in California. Two landing opportunities at KSC Thursday afternoon were skipped because of clouds and showers in the vicinity of the spaceport. NASA will attempt to land Atlantis on Friday instead, with two opportunities at KSC at 2:18 and 3:54 pm EDT (1818 and 1954 GMT). In addition, there will be three landing opportunities Friday at Edwards Air Force Base in California, a backup landing site, at 3:49, 5:24, and 6:59 pm EDT (1949, 2124, and 2259 GMT). Additional landing opportunities exist Saturday at those two sites as well as White Sands, New Mexico, should weather prevent a landing Friday. The shuttle has enough consumables to remain in orbit until Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list