spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 10, 2007, 8:08 PM ET (0008 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-11 launch (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying a three-person crew, including the first female space station commander and first Malaysian cosmonaut, launched on a journey to the ISS on Wednesday. A Soyuz rocket carrying the Soyuz TMA-11 spacecraft lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:22 am EDT (1322 GMT); the spacecraft reached orbit nine minutes later. The Soyuz is carrying the Expedition 16 crew of Peggy Whitson and Yuri Malenchenko, as well as Malaysian guest cosmonaut Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, the first Malaysian to fly in space. The Soyuz is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 10:52 am EDT (1452 GMT) Friday. Shukor will return to Earth on October 21 along with Expedition 15 cosmonauts Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov, while Whitson, the first woman to command the ISS, and Malenchenko will remain on the station for the next six months.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list