spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rosetta flies past Earth
Posted: Wed, Nov 14, 2007, 7:17 AM ET (1217 GMT)
Rosetta Earth flyby illustration (ESA) ESA's Rosetta spacecraft flew past Earth on Tuesday, a flyby that keeps the spacecraft on course for its ultimate destination, a comet. Rosetta made its closest approach to Earth at 3:57 pm EST (2057 GMT), passing 5,295 km about the Pacific Ocean southwest of Chile. The flyby is the second of Earth since its launch in March 2004, with a third scheduled for November 2009; Rosetta also flew past Mars in February 2007. The flybys are designed to put the spacecraft on course for its primary destination, 67/P Churyumov-Gerasimenko, where it will arrive in mid-2014.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
OneWeb applies to FCC for bigger fleet authorisation
Telecompaper — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
NASA eyes Aug. for SpaceX ship liftoff with Japanese astronaut aboard
Kyodo International — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list