spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS astronauts outfit Harmony exterior
Posted: Wed, Nov 21, 2007, 7:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2007 Nov 20 (NASA) Two members of the International Space Station took a seven-hour spacewalk outside the station Tuesday to continue outfitting the new Harmony module at its permanent location. Expedition 16 commander Peggy Whitson and Dan Tani spent 7 hours and 16 minutes outside the ISS starting at 5:10 am EST (1010 GMT), about 50 minutes early. The two completed a number of tasks required to fully complete the installation of Harmony, including configuring avionics, power, and heater cables on Harmony and the PMA-2 docking adapter on the far end of Harmony, as well as moving a fluid tray using by the station's cooling system to its new location on the Destiny module. The two completed their tasks without problems, and had time to perform a number of "get ahead" tasks planned for the next spacewalk, scheduled for Saturday. That spacewalk will complete the installation of Harmony and clear the way for the launch next month of the next ISS module, the European lab module Columbus.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list