spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for shuttle launch
Posted: Tue, Dec 4, 2007, 8:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
STS-122: logo (NASA) The countdown for the launch of the shuttle Atlantis started Monday evening, with good weather forecast and only minor technical issues being addressed. Atlantis is scheduled to lift off on mission STS-122 at 4:31 pm EST (2131 GMT) Thursday, and weather forecasts predict an 80 percent chance of acceptable conditions for the launch at that time; weather conditions are expected to deteriorate should the launch be delayed. The only significant technical problem being addressed is a set of three dings found in foam on the external tank. Those dings will be repaired before the launch. Atlantis is carrying the European lab module Columbus, which will be installed at the new Harmony docking node added to the station on the previous shuttle mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list