spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fuel sensor problem delays shuttle launch to Saturday
Posted: Thu, Dec 6, 2007, 11:54 PM ET (0454 GMT)
STS-122: logo (NASA) NASA postponed the launch of the space shuttle Atlantis after encountering problems with fuel sensors, pushing the launch back to no sooner than Saturday. Atlantis was scheduled to lift off Thursday afternoon on mission STS-122, but the launch was scrubbed in the morning because of erroneous readings from hydrogen fuel sensors in the shuttle's external tanks. Two of the four sensors provided incorrect data during a routine pre-flight test; a third sensor also provided incorrect data when the external tank was emptied after the scrub. The launch is now scheduled for Saturday at 3:43 pm EST (2043 GMT), although that is dependent on engineers resolving the sensor problem on Friday. Atlantis is carrying the Columbus laboratory module for the station, provided by ESA. The shuttle launch must take place by December 13 or NASA will have to wait until January to try again.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 19
Ready to buy a trip to orbit from Elon Musk?
Quartz — 6:36 am ET (1136 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list