spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Sun, Dec 23, 2007, 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz rocket launched on Sunday a Progress spacecraft carrying cargo for the International Space Station. The Soyuz lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 2:12 am EST (0712 GMT) Sunday and placed the Progress M-62 spacecraft into low Earth orbit. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 3:30 am EST (0830 GMT) Wednesday; the spacecraft will take a three-day approach to the station rather than the typical two-day flight "to prepare the spacecraft's systems for docking with the ISS more carefully," according to Russian media reports. On board the spacecraft is a typical assortment of food, water, and other supplies, as well as Christmas presents for the three-person crew. the launch comes one day after an older spacecraft, Progress M-61, undocked from the station; it will remain in orbit for several weeks performing unspecified experiments before it reenters.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list