spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MESSENGER flies past Mercury
Posted: Tue, Jan 15, 2008, 7:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)
MESSENGER illustration (JHUAPL) NASA's MESSENGER spacecraft flew past the planet MErcury on Monday, the first time a spacecraft has visited the solar system's innermost planet in over three decades. MESSENGER passed 200 kilometers above the surface of Mercury at 2:04 pm EST (1904 GMT) Monday, and the spacecraft performed as planned during the flyby. The spacecraft will begin transmitting images and other data collected during the flyby on Tuesday. The observations will include portions of the planet now seen by the only other spacecraft to visit Mercury, Mariner 10, which performed three flybys of Mercury in the mid-1970s. The flyby is the first of three MESSENGER will perform through September 2009 before the spacecraft enters orbit around the planet in 2011. MESSENGER was launched in 2004 and performed one flyby of Earth and two of Venus en route to Mercury.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list