spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches domestic comsat
Posted: Mon, Jan 28, 2008, 2:02 PM ET (1902 GMT)
Proton launch of Express-AM33 (Russia Today) A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite early Monday. The Proton-M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 7:18 pm EST Sunday (0018 GMT Monday) and placed the Express-AM33 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit. The spacecraft, to be located at 96.5 degrees east in GEO, carries a mix of C-, Ku-, and L-band transponders to provide various communications services in Russia and Asia Pacific countries for its operator, Russian Satellite Communications Company. The satellite, with a mass of nearly 2,600 kilograms and a planned 12-year lifetime, was built by Russian company NPO PM with the communications payload provided by Thales Alenia Space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Opinion: The future of spaceflight is female
Houston Chronicle — 8:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list