spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete final STS-123 EVA
Posted: Sun, Mar 23, 2008, 10:22 AM ET (1422 GMT)
STS-123: EVA #5 (NASA) Two astronauts spent six hours outside the International Space Station Saturday night, completing a final set of tasks planned for the STS-123 mission. Robert Behnken and Michael Foreman spent six hours and two minutes outside the station on an EVA that ended at 10:36 pm EDT Saturday (0236 GMT Sunday). The primary task of the mission was to stow a boom used to perform shuttle inspections on the station. The boom is normally returned to Earth on each shuttle mission but will be kept on the station because there is no room for it on the next mission, which will carry the rest of the Kibo lab module to the ISS. Astronauts also successfully installed a materials science experiment on the exterior of the Columbus module; that experiment was to be installed on the mission's third EVA but failed to attach properly. The two also inspected a balky joint that helps the station's solar arrays track the Sun and performed some get-ahead tasks. After a rest period today, the STS-123 crew will wrap up its stay on the station. The shuttle is scheduled to undock Monday night and return to Earth on Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list