spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, May 29, 2008, 5:32 AM ET (0932 GMT)
STS-124: logo (NASA) NASA started the countdown Wednesday for Saturday's scheduled launch of the space shuttle Discovery while making a last-minute addition to the orbiter's cargo to deal with a problem on the ISS. The countdown for the launch of mission STS-124 formally started at 4 pm EDT (2000 GMT) Wednesday at the T-43 hour mark, with liftoff scheduled for 5:02 pm EDT (2102 GMT) on Saturday, May 31. NASA has reported a record low number of technical glitches leading up to the launch, and forecasts call for an 80-percent chance of acceptable weather for launch. The primary purpose of the mission is to deliver the main section of the Japanese lab module Kibo to the ISS, as well as replace current ISS crewmember Garrett Reisman with Greg Chamitoff. On Wednesday NASA decided to add about 15 kilograms of spare parts for the station's main toilet, which recently malfunctioned. Technicians took out some non-essential cargo on the shuttle to make room for the spare parts.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list