spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Mon, Jun 2, 2008, 10:08 PM ET (0208 GMT)
STS-124: logo (NASA) The space shuttle Discovery docked with the International Space Station on Monday afternoon, ready to add a new module to the orbiting outpost. Discovery docked with the Harmony module of the station at 2:03 pm EDT (1803 GMT), and hatches separating the two spacecraft opened about an hour and a half later. The primary purpose of the STS-124 shuttle mission is to install the main component of the Japanese laboratory Kibo to the station. That effort will get underway with a spacewalk Tuesday by astronauts Michael Fossum and Ronald Garan, who will prepare the module for attachment to the station as well as fetch an inspection boom left behind at the station by the previous shuttle mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list