spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ATV Jules Verne reenters
Posted: Tue, Sep 30, 2008, 6:52 AM ET (1052 GMT)
ATV Jules Verne reentry (ESA) Europe's first ISS cargo spacecraft, the Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) "Jules Verne", ended its mission Monday with a planned destructive reentry over the south Pacific. The ATV reentered at 9:31 am EDT (1331 GMT) and broke up in the upper atmosphere, with any surviving debris splashing down into a designated region of the Pacific 12 minutes later. The spacecraft, the first of several planned by ESA, launched in March on an Ariane 5 and docked with the ISS in early April. The ATV undocked from the station in early September and spent about three weeks rephasing its orbit for reentry. The ATV delivered food, water, and other cargo to the station and also reboosted the station's orbit during its time attached to the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
OneWeb files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

SpaceX wins Gateway cargo contract
Posted: Sun, Mar 29 9:39 AM ET (1339 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-6
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:13 PM ET (1813 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 2


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list