spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Next shuttle mission cleared for launch
Posted: Sat, Nov 1, 2008, 8:15 AM ET (1215 GMT)
STS-126: logo (NASA) NASA announced Thursday that the space shuttle Endeavour was cleared for launch in mid-November on a mission to the International Space Station. Endeavour is scheduled for launch on mission STS-126 at 7:55 pm EST November 14 (0055 GMT November 15) after completing a flight readiness review this week. The primary goal of the mission is to carry 14,500 kilograms of cargo to the station, including items that will allow the station to increase its crew capacity from three to six people. The mission will also include four spacewalks to service the station's two Solar Alpha Rotary Joints that allow the station's solar panels to track the sun; one of two SARJs has experienced problems over the last year. The STS-126 crew includes astronaut Sandra Magnus, who will remain on the station, taking the place of current ISS astronaut Greg Chamitoff.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list