spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete first STS-126 EVA
Posted: Wed, Nov 19, 2008, 8:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)
STS-126: EVA #1 (NASA) Two astronauts successfully completed a spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Tuesday despite the loss of a tool bag part way through the EVA. Heidemarie Stefanyshyn-Piper and Steve Bowen spent six hours and 52 minutes outside the station on an EVA that started at 1:09 pm EST (1809 GMT) Tuesday. The two spent the majority of their time working on one of the station's Solar Array Rotary Joint (SARJ), used to allow the station's solar panels to track the Sun, cleaning and lubricating the joint in a bid to solve problems with it. During that work Stefanyshyn-Piper noticed that a grease gun had leaked in her tool bag; in the process of cleaning the grease residue the bag floated away. The bag does not pose a risk of hitting the station, and backup tools are available for use on the mission's remaining three spacewalks. During the EVA the two astronauts also moved an empty nitrogen tank from the station to the shuttle's cargo bay and carried out several other minor tasks outside the station. The next EVA of the mission is scheduled for Thursday, which will also be the 10th anniversary of the launch of the station's first element, the Russian Zarya module.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)

Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of Electron failure
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:35 PM ET (2135 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 7
SpaceX Has Successful Overnight Starlink Mission Launch
Spectrum News — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list