spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NOAA-N Prime launch postponed again
Posted: Thu, Feb 5, 2009, 5:47 AM ET (1047 GMT)
The launch of a weather satellite on a Delta 2 was scrubbed again late Wednesday night because of a problem with a ground system. The launch from Vandenberg Air Force Base, scheduled for 5:22 am EST (1022 GMT), was scrubbed several hours earlier because of a freon leak in a payload cooling system at the launch site. While the cooling system is repaired, technicians plans to check to ensure that the leak did not cause any contamination of the satellite. The launch has tentatively been rescheduled for the same time on Friday. The launch had been previously scheduled for Wednesday but postponed because of a problem with a nitrogen pressurization system. The polar-orbiting weather satellite, the last in the current series of such spacecraft, suffered two mishaps during its manufacturing, including an infamous incident in 2003 when the spacecraft slipped off a stand and fell to a floor, incurring over $200 million in repair costs.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Prichal ISS module
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:25 AM ET (1525 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)

China launches imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 27 10:16 AM ET (1516 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 3
Rocket Lab Unveils Neutron Launcher Design
Aviation Week — 5:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list