spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Chinese lunar orbiter ends mission with crash landing
Posted: Sun, Mar 1, 2009, 12:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
Chang'e-1 illustration (CNSA) China's first mission to the Moon ended Sunday when the spacecraft deorbited and crashed to the lunar surface, as planned. Chang'e-1 hit the lunar surface at 3:13 am EST (0813 GMT) just south the equator, according to Chinese officials. The spacecraft, China's first mission to the Moon, launched in October 2007 and entered lunar orbit the following month for what was planned to be a one-year mission that was later extended; no advance public notice was given of plans to deorbit the spacecraft this weekend. China is planning a second lunar orbiter in the next two years, to be followed by landers and sample return missions later next decade.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list