spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches missile defense technology satellite
Posted: Tue, May 5, 2009, 9:39 PM ET (0139 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of STSS-ATRR (ULA) A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched a technology demonstration satellite for the Missile Defense Agency (MDA) on Tuesday afternoon. The Delta 2 7920 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 4:24 pm EDT (2024 GMT) and placed the Space Tracking and Surveillance System (STSS) Advanced Technology Risk Reduction (ATRR) satellite into a low Earth orbit. STSS-ATRR will serve as a "technology pathfinder" for the planned STSS system, a space-based network of satellites designed to detect and pinpoint missile launches, providing that information to missile defense systems. A pair of STSS demonstration satellites are scheduled for launch later this year on another Delta 2.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list