spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Minotaur launch
Posted: Wed, May 6, 2009, 5:25 AM ET (0925 GMT)
The launch of an experimental military satellite and small NASA spacecraft was scrubbed Tuesday because of poor weather. The launch of a Minotaur 1 rocket carrying the TacSat-3 and PharmaSat spacecraft was scheduled for Tuesday evening from Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia, but weather conditions forced controllers to scrub the launch. The launch has been rescheduled for Thursday between 8 and 11 pm EDT (0000 and 0300 GMT Friday). The primary payload on the Minotaur is TacSat-3, a 400-kilogram satellite designed to test responsive space technologies, including a hyperspectral imager. Flying as a secondary payload is PharmaSat, a 5-kilogram satellite built by NASA's Ames Research Center to study the growth of yeast cells in space and the effectiveness of antifungal drugs.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list